Introduction to a Study of Jesus Christ

The Bible, the Qur’an, the Book of Mormon….all address the person, Jesus Christ. They each have a different theory, either He was God in the flesh or He was a prophet. I’ve always wanted to study various religions opposed to the one I was brought up in (Christianity) but it was not until just recently that my interest was peaked enough through various events that I decided to sit down with a copy of each of these three books and do a side by side comparison. Who do the Christians, the Muslims and the LDS church believe that Yeshua was and why and who is right?

When Jesus Christ was on earth in human form, He was known by several names most commonly Yeshua. Also, Yeshua Ha’Mashiach or Yeshua the Messiah. Jesus Christ is the Greek translation of a Hebrew name. I think it makes sense to call Him by the same name that His disciples did and will be doing so throughout this series of articles. I will also at times refer to Christians as Believers in Yeshua so to distinguish them from the lost “Christians”/church-goers populating our churches today most of whom don’t actually understand why they’re there.

Technically, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is considered part of Christianity, lumped in with the Roman Catholic Church, the Protestant Church and the various denominations within those groups. For this study, I will be treating LDS as their own religion completely separated from Christianity and Islam.

I am primarily doing this for my own education and I do not have the time to get drawn into long discussions, but I do welcome comments/questions from all sides.

If you disagree, please tell me why in an intelligent and respectful manner. “This is just @#$% and dumb and makes no sense. Don’t write about @#$% you know nothing about…” is not an acceptable form of debate by anyone’s standards and such comments will be deleted.

I recently watched a clip of a testimony given by a former Muslim, now a Believer in Yeshua, where he was talking about how he began to study what the Qu’ran said about Jesus Christ and he found it interesting that although Islam teaches that Yeshua was just a prophet (with some good ideas) the Qu’ran gives more attention to this Man than even Muhammad himself. You can view the video I watched here.

I find it interesting that, according to Mario Joseph, even the Qu’ran confirms that Yeshua is God. I have not read the Qu’ran or the book of Mormon and didn’t realize that the former said much of anything about the Messiah at all so I decided to look into this for myself. According to these three religions, who was Yeshua? A prophet with some great ideas? God in human form? Just a guy with a lot of influence? What do you think?

About AbigailCovington

I am many, many things. I am a writer, a woman, a Millennial, a homeschool graduate, an entrepreneur, a wellness advocate, a thinker. I am a Believer in Yeshua the Messiah. I am an optimist.
This entry was posted in Life, Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introduction to a Study of Jesus Christ

  1. Its all about Christs deity or not. Only in Christianity is Jesus “Emanuel, God with us”. My thesis is Christ as God incarnate. I’ve written extensively on this subject.
    God bless

  2. Zach says:

    To find what members of the LDS church believe about Christ, you could check here: http://www.mormon.org/beliefs/jesus-christ

    I believe he is our Savior and the Son of Good 🙂

    • theclassygypsy says:

      Thanks for the comment, Zach. I’ve just started reading the Book of Mormon so I’m pretty much just going on the little that I’ve picked up over the years, but here’s something I have always wondered, maybe you can help me out here…
      If I’m not mistaken, the angel Moroni supposedly met with Joseph Smith, told him that the Bible was incomplete and gave him what that we now know as the Book of Mormon. I’ve also been told that the LDS church still believe that the Bible is the inspired word of God. Is this correct? And if so, my question is, how do you explain Galatians 1:8 where Paul said, “But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed.”

      • shematwater says:

        I know I am not Zack, but I would like to offer an answer to the question.

        Yes, Moroni lead Joseph Smith to the Book of Mormon.
        Yes, the LDS still believe the Bible is the inspired word of God.
        As to Galatians 1: 8, we don’t believe this is a different gospel than the one that Paul taught. It is the rest of Christianity that had fallen into error and needed to be corrected, which is why God called Joseph Smith to restore the gospel.

        This hymn explains it very well. It is called “What Was Witnessed In The Heavens?”

        What was witnessed in the heavens?
        Why, an angel earthward bound.
        Had he something with him bringing?
        Yes, the gospel, joyful sound!
        It was to be preached in power
        On the earth, the angel said,
        To all men, all tongues and nations
        That upon its face are spread.

        Had we not before the gospel?
        Yes, it came of old to men.
        Then what is this latter gospel?
        ‘Tis the first one come again.
        This was preached by Paul and Peter
        And by Jesus Christ, the Head.
        This we latter Saints are preaching;
        We their footsteps wish to tread.

        Where so long has been the gospel?
        Did it pass from earth away?
        Yes, ’twas taken back to heaven
        Till should dawn a brighter day.
        What became of those departed,
        Knowing not the gospel plan?
        In the spirit world they’ll hear it;
        God is just to ev’ry man.

Leave a comment